James Loney does this at first base on pick off throws. … The most common Type A obstruction plays occur when a runner is obstructed by a fielder without the ball in a rundown or when a batter-runner is obstructed by a pitcher covering first base without the ball in his possession while the ball is in the infield.
Can you block first base?
Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
Can first baseman Block bag on pickoff?
“Time, runner you go to second.” The first baseman is entitled to the base IF he is in the act of catching the thrown ball. It’s that dratted word again, JUDGMENT. If the umpire thinks the fielder is blocking the base without the ball, it’s obstruction.
Can a player block the base?
AG: Players in the field can block any base as long as they are holding the ball or are in the process of fielding the ball. To do so without those conditions could result in the blocking player being called for obstruction and the base being awarded to the runner.
What is the obstruction rule?
Official Baseball Rule 2.00 defines obstruction as: The act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. … After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball.
When can a catcher block the plate?
Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the catcher without possession of the ball blocks the pathway of the runner, the umpire shall call or signal the runner safe.
Can you block the plate in Little League?
When the catcher blocks the plate without the ball, it should be called interference. … Obstruction only applies to a defensive player who is not in possession of the ball. The runner must always slide when the play is close. Reality: This is probably the single most misunderstood and misapplied rule in Little League.
Can a fielder stand in the baseline?
Infielders can stand anywhere they would like to, as long as they don’t impede the runners access to his running lane. … If the infielder is in the baseline when the ball is hit, and he is not in the process of fielding the ball, he needs to move out of the path of the runner.
Is obstruction a dead ball?
Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. … This is an immediate dead ball and bases are awarded as appropriate.
Which foot should you hit first base with?
Right-handed first baseman: Position your right foot against the bag with both heels about parallel to the base line. You want to be in an athletic position with your knees bent. Left-handed first baseman: Position your right foot against the bag.
Why is a left handed first baseman better?
Left-handed throwers actually have an advantage playing first base because the only difficult throws that the first baseman usually makes are to third or second base in an attempt to force out a baserunner.
What is it called when four balls allows the batter to go to first base?
A base on balls (BB), also known as a walk, occurs in baseball when a batter receives four pitches that the umpire calls balls, and is in turn awarded first base without the possibility of being called out. … A batter who draws a base on balls is commonly said to have been “walked” by the pitcher.
How far away is the pitcher’s mound from home plate in the major leagues?
Mound to home plate distance – The distance between the pitcher’s plate and home base (the rear point of home plate) shall be 60 feet, 6 inches.
What happens on catcher’s interference?
Catcher’s interference is called when the catcher physically hinders the batter’s opportunity to legally swing at a pitched ball. … The penalty here is that the batter is awarded first base, any runner attempting to steal is awarded that base, and all other runners advance only if forced.
Is catcher’s interference a delayed dead ball?
Catcher’s interference is considered a delayed dead ball situation, much like a balk. … The catcher is charged with an error however the batter is not considered to have reached on an error, and is not charged with a time at bat.