A pitcher receives a loss when a run that is charged to him proves to be the go-ahead run in the game, giving the opposing team a lead it never gives up. Losses are almost always paired with wins when used to evaluate a pitcher, creating a separate pitching term known as win-loss record.
How are wins and losses determined for pitchers?
In each game, one pitcher on the winning team is awarded a win (the “winning pitcher”) and one pitcher on the losing team is given a loss (the “losing pitcher”) in their respective statistics. … The decisions are awarded by the official scorer of the game in accordance with the league’s rules.
How do they decide which pitcher gets the win?
A pitcher receives a win when he is the pitcher of record when his team takes the lead for good — with a couple rare exceptions. First, a starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings (in a traditional game of nine innings or longer) to qualify for the win.
Can a pitcher win and lose the same game?
However strange Hanrahan’s situation was, though, Mexican League pitcher Mauro Ruiz did Hanrahan one better in 1963 when he somehow managed to be both the winning and the losing pitcher in a game! … Ruiz started the game for the Tigres, but a short circuit in the top of the fifth inning caused the game to be suspended.
Can a pitcher get the win and the save?
A pitcher cannot receive a save and a win in the same game. A relief pitcher recording a save must preserve his team’s lead while doing one of the following: Enter the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitch at least one inning. … Pitch at least three innings.
Do wins or losses go first?
Win-Loss Record Format
Win-loss records are formatted with wins being indicated first, followed by a hyphen and the number of losses. For example, 10 wins and 6 losses would be indicated as 10-6.
How many pitchers have won 30 games in a season?
In the Deadball Era the game changed and fewer pitchers reached 30 wins, but it still happened. Since 1917 only five pitchers have won 30 games in a season, and no one has done so since 1968. It is a milestone that is likely not to be reached again.
Who gets the win in a 7 inning game?
A starting pitcher is still in line for the win if he goes at least five innings and his team has the lead when he departs (and keeps the lead after he departs). And if a starter goes all seven innings without allowing a run, he will still get credited with a shutout.
What is base on balls in baseball?
Definition. A walk (or base on balls) occurs when a pitcher throws four pitches out of the strike zone, none of which are swung at by the hitter. After refraining from swinging at four pitches out of the zone, the batter is awarded first base. In the scorebook, a walk is denoted by the letters BB.
Can a pitcher get a loss on an unearned run?
If the pitcher’s team loses the game they cannot get a win, even if they gave up fewer earned runs than their team scored. The fact that a run is “unearned” does not affect win-loss tallies. … So a pitcher could give up, say, one unearned run, lose the game 1-0, and have a 0.00 ERA for the game.
Who is the winningest pitcher of all time?
Cy Young holds the MLB win record with 511; Walter Johnson is second with 417. Young and Johnson are the only players to earn 400 or more wins. Among pitchers whose entire careers were in the post-1920 live-ball era, Warren Spahn has the most wins with 363.
Has anyone thrown a no hitter and lost?
On April 23, 1964, Ken Johnson of the Houston Colt . 45s became the first pitcher to throw a nine-inning no-hitter and lose. In fact, he is still the only individual to throw an official (nine-inning) no-hitter and lose.
Can a starting pitcher re enter?
The pitcher may re-enter the game once just like any starter but they can’t return to the mound. However if you just move him to another position he may return to the mound once an inning.
What does GP GS mean in baseball?
GP / GS. Games played / Games started. H. Base hits.
Is 4 runs a save opportunity?
For a save opportunity, a pitcher must be the final pitcher for his team (and not the winning pitcher) and do one of the following: Enter the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitch at least one inning. Enter the game with the tying run in the on-deck circle — or closer to scoring.
Can you get a save with a 4 run lead?
Save opportunities are determined by the situation at the time the pitcher enters the game. Pitchers cannot create their own save opportunities. So if a pitcher enters with a 4 run lead and it’s not a save situation, they will not be able to earn a save regardless of the final score.