Who won 1999 Home Run Derby?

1999 Home Run Derby 1999 Home Run Derby Official Logo Fenway Park / Boston, Massachusetts
Place Name(s) Total
1st Ken Griffey, Jr. 16
2nd Jeromy Burnitz 14
3rd Mark McGwire 16

Who won the 1999 homerun derby?

Derby Winners

Year Site Winner
1999 Fenway Park Ken Griffey, Jr.
2000 Turner Field Sammy Sosa
2001 Safeco Field Luis Gonzalez
2002 Miller Park Jason Giambi

Who won the 1998 Home Run Derby?

SEATTLE — The baseball world almost didn’t see Ken Griffey Jr. win the 1998 Home Run Derby at Denver’s Coors Field, but that’s no excuse for missing out on a second chance.

Who won the 1996 Home Run Derby?

Share All sharing options for: Watch Barry Bonds win the 1996 Home Run Derby. Barry Bonds was in six Home Run Derbies in his career, five of them as a Giant. He won only one of them, though.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Does the batter get an RBI on a wild pitch?

Who won the 1993 Home Run Derby?

The ’93 derby had its share of mashers — Barry Bonds, Cecil Fielder, Mike Piazza — but in the end, it came down to Juan Gonzalez and Griffey. According to newspaper articles, Gonzalez won the derby and hit the longest home run, some 473 feet into the upper deck.

Who has the longest HR in ASG history?

In 1987, Joey Meyer of the Denver Zephyrs hit the longest verifiable home run in professional baseball history. The home run was measured at a distance of 582 feet (177 m) and was hit inside Denver’s Mile High Stadium.

What is the longest homerun in homerun derby history?

Joc Pederson (2019).

Guerrero saw 207 pitches, swung at 195 and homered on 91 of them. Total distance: 38,641 feet, or more than 7 miles of home runs. He had the seven hardest-hit balls of the night.

Who hit most home runs?

Career Leaders & Records for Home Runs

Rank Player (yrs, age) Home Runs
1. Barry Bonds (22) 762
2. Hank Aaron+ (23) 755
3. Babe Ruth+ (22) 714
4. Alex Rodriguez (22) 696

How does a home run derby work?

Eight players participate in the derby in a bracket-style, single-elimination timed event. Each player has four minutes to hit as many home runs as possible. Hitters are awarded an additional 30 seconds if they hit two home runs over 440 ft (134.11 m).

Did Barry Bonds win a home run derby?

1996: Barry Bonds and Mark McGwire Face off

Bonds is the all-time home run leader with 726 career dingers. The two modern day home run kings faced off in the 1996 Home Run Derby and, as expected, didn’t disappoint. Bonds edged McGwire by two home runs, giving him an impressive 17 for the contest.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can a right handed pitcher throw to first?

Who was in the home run derby last year?

Alonso edged out Guerrero in a thrilling final-round battle of rookie phenoms. Alonso not only won the Derby, but went on to hit a Major League-best 53 home runs in 2019. Those 53 homers were also the most by any rookie in big league history, eclipsing the mark previously set by Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge.

Who is MLB home run leader?

Barry Bonds holds the Major League Baseball home run record with 762. He passed Hank Aaron, who hit 755, on August 7, 2007. The only other player to have hit 700 or more is Babe Ruth with 714. Alex Rodriguez (696), Albert Pujols (662), Willie Mays (660), Ken Griffey, Jr.

Which Yankee was the first MLB rookie to win the Home Run Derby?

Judge won the 2017 Home Run Derby, besting Minnesota Twins third baseman Miguel Sanó 11–10 in the final round to become the first rookie to win the Derby outright. After his performance, MLB commissioner Rob Manfred stated that Judge is a player “who can become the face of the game”.

Who hit the warehouse at Camden Yards?

In the entire history of Camden Yards, Ken Griffey Jr. has been the only player to hit the warehouse with a ball hit in fair territory. He did so in the 1993 MLB Home Run Derby, in which he tied Juan González before losing in a playoff. No player has ever hit the warehouse in a game.

How won the Home Run Derby 2019?

Alonso wins the Derby

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many outs are in an inning?

Yet when all was said and done, it was Pete Alonso raising the trophy. Alonso outslugged Guerrero in a memorable final round, hitting 23 home runs to edge his fellow rookie by one homer. Alonso became the second rookie ever to win the event, joining Aaron Judge of the Yankees, who won in 2017.

Who pitches in the Home Run Derby?

Baez’s 3-run homer

Braves infield instructor Tomas Perez will pitch to Freeman during the Home Run Derby. Freeman has simply grown comfortable with Perez, who became his primary BP pitcher after joining Atlanta’s staff on Opening Day.

Home run